DEI Council

Who We Are

Following are some statement developed by the Campus Services DEI Council that define who we are. 

Belief Statement: We believe in providing a safe space where all are accepted, respected, valued and able to excel.

Mission Statement: The mission of our Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Council is to create, support and foster a unified community promoting a culture of Vulnerability, Empathy, Respect, Inclusivity, Consideration, Dependability, and Fairness.

How Statement: We represent all Campus Services employees and support the DEI initiative by providing the opportunities, tools, and resources to proactively bridge gaps and promote accountabilities for all 7 Principles.


With oversight from Director of Culture and Employee Belonging Nick Davis, the Council is focused on 3 topics that were identified from the Phase 1 survey and listening sessions. Each topic has a subcommittee with support from an individual project manager.

The Communication Subcommittee will look at the communication process, tools and mechanisms, and provide strategies for how communication can be improved within Campus Services.  (Members include Raneth Sophorn, Chris Johnson, Monica Godfrey, Martha Dow, Eric Platt .)

The Training Subcommittee will assess how training is conducted and identify tools/mechanisms to provide recommendations and strategies on how it can be improved.  (Members include Lars Barr, Beth Rosenberger, Ed Lewis, Daniel Justynski, Susan Desjardins. )

The Community Engagement Subcommittee will help build a strong culture through events and initiatives that provide positive morale and increase a sense of belonging and recognition for all Campus Services employees. (Members include Susie Weider, Billy Lyons, Julie Findley, Deb Scanlon, Johnathan Dunham.)